Saint-Gobain shareholders' meeting 2007

The Combined Ordinary and Extraordinary Shareholders’ Meeting of Compagnie de Saint-Gobain was held in Paris on Thursday, June 7, 2007.

At this meeting, the Shareholders renewed the terms of office of Bernard Cusenier, Gérard Mestrallet and Denis Ranque as Directors. They also appointed Robert Chevrier, a Canadian citizen and director of several companies, as Director to replace Paul Allan David, and Yuko Harayama, a Japanese Citizen, University Professor, and member of the Japanese government’s Council for Science and Technology Policy, as Director to replace Sehoon Lee.

The Shareholders also approved the distribution of a dividend of €1.70 up 25% on 2005. This dividend will be paid in full, in cash, on Thursday, June 21, 2007.

At this Meeting, the Board of Directors appointed Pierre-André de Chalendar as Chief Executive Officer of Compagnie de Saint-Gobain. In accordance with the Company's bylaws, Jean-Louis Beffa will continue to act as Chairman of the Board of Directors.


Pierre-André de Chalendar, born in April 1958, is a graduate of top French business schools ESSEC and the Ecole Nationale d'Administration. His previous posts have included that of Finance Inspector, as well as Deputy Director General of Energy and Raw Materials at the French Ministry of Industry and Regional Development. On November 1, 1989, he joined Compagnie de Saint-Gobain as Vice-President, Corporate Planning. He headed the Abrasives Division for Europe from 1992 to 1996 and went on to become President of the worldwide Abrasives Division from 1996 to 2000. Between 2000 and 2002, he was Saint-Gobain’s General Delegate to the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland. In 2003, Pierre-André de Chalendar was appointed Senior Vice-President of Compagnie de Saint-Gobain in charge of the Building Distribution Sector. Since May 3, 2005 he has held the position of Chief Operating Officer of Compagnie de Saint-Gobain.